We encourage you to republish this article online and in print, it’s free under our creative commons attribution license, but please follow some simple guidelines:
  1. You have to credit our authors.
  2. You have to credit SciDev.Net — where possible include our logo with a link back to the original article.
  3. You can simply run the first few lines of the article and then add: “Read the full article on SciDev.Net” containing a link back to the original article.
  4. If you want to also take images published in this story you will need to confirm with the original source if you're licensed to use them.
  5. The easiest way to get the article on your site is to embed the code below.
For more information view our media page and republishing guidelines.

The full article is available here as HTML.

Press Ctrl-C to copy

Caribbean islands and coastal nations are to receive US$5 million from the Global Environment Facility (GEF) as part of a World Bank programme to help them adapt to climate change.

The programme, Mainstreaming Adaptation to Climate Change, which was approved last week by the World Bank, will fund efforts by these countries to adapt to intensified floods, heavy rains and hurricanes, which are expected as a result of climate change.

“These resources will enable governments to anticipate the economic and social effects of these changes, and to develop plans and action programs designed to adapt their economies to these anticipated impacts of global climate change,” says John Redwood, the World Bank’s Director of Environmentally and Socially Sustainable Development in Latin America and the Caribbean. “As a result, the local economies will be less vulnerable to these risks.”

The GEF grant — to be administered by the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) in Georgetown, Guyana — is supplemented by grants of US$3.15 million from governments of CARICOM countries, US$2 million from Canada and US$800,000 from the United States, bringing the total funds available to almost US$11 million.

It will benefit a number of nations, including Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Trinidad and Tobago.

© SciDev.Net 2003

Related external links:

The Caribbean Community
World Bank

Related topics