Republish

We encourage you to republish this article online and in print, it’s free under our creative commons attribution license, but please follow some simple guidelines:
  1. You have to credit our authors.
  2. You have to credit SciDev.Net — where possible include our logo with a link back to the original article.
  3. You can simply run the first few lines of the article and then add: “Read the full article on SciDev.Net” containing a link back to the original article.
  4. If you want to also take images published in this story you will need to confirm with the original source if you're licensed to use them.
  5. The easiest way to get the article on your site is to embed the code below.
For more information view our media page and republishing guidelines.

The full article is available here as HTML.

Press Ctrl-C to copy

THE LIVE SESSION OF THIS DEBATE HAS ENDED: Below is the video recording of the session of April 22, 2020


Streaming on YouTube

Women are on the coronavirus frontlines as healthcare workers and primary caregivers, but policy responses often fail to consider how gender and epidemics interact. Health policies that fail to recognise the different needs of genders cannot effectively mitigate the impacts of pandemics, such as the novel coronavirus.

In this special SciDev.Net debate, we considered: Are more men dying of COVID-19 than women? Are women at greater risk of violence in lockdown? In stretched health systems, who will receive priority care and who could miss out? Do diagnostics, treatments and vaccine trials take gender into consideration? Does personal protective equipment keep everyone equally safe? And why is sex disaggregated data central to all these questions?

The expert panel, was moderated by SciDev.Net, on Wednesday, 22 April from 2pm-3pm GMT as we debated why gender analysis must be central in global health emergencies.

Our panelists were:
  • Sarah Hawkes: professor of global public health, University College London Institutional Research Information Service; co-founder and co-director of Global Health 50/50.
  • Roopa Dhatt: executive director and co-founder, Women in Global Health; internal medicine physician.
  • Giampiero Favato: director, Institute of Leadership and Management in Health, Kingston Business School, Kingston University London; editor of the American Public Library of Science journal PLOS ONE. 
  • Blessing A. Odogwu: plant science and biotechnology lecturer, University of Port Harcourt; member of the Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD).
     

Cities Time
Los Angeles  7am-8am 
New York  10am-11am 
Rio de Janeiro 11am-12pm 
London 3pm-4pm 
Cairo 4pm-5pm 
New Delhi  7.30pm-8.30pm
               

Related topics