Bringing science and development together through news and analysis

2017 AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards

The contest year for the 2017 AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards will close on July 15.

Be sure to enter your best work that appeared in print, online or on air between July 16, 2016 and July 15, 2017.

The entry deadline is August 1, 2017.

The competition is open to professional journalists from around the world in each of the eight reporting categories.

There is no entry fee. Please read the Contest Rules and Frequently Asked Questions before submitting.

Note: If the submitted work was published or broadcast in a language other than English, you must provide an English translation. If providing a translation is a hardship, we may be able to help. See our FAQ for more information. The awards program recognizes outstanding reporting for a general audience and honors individuals for coverage of the sciences, engineering, and mathematics.

Stories on the environment, energy, science policy, and health qualify if they deal in a substantive way with underlying science. Independent committees of journalists select the winning entries. The contest is administered by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). The awards will be presented at the AAAS Annual Meeting in February 2018 in Austin, Texas. The award covers travel and lodging expenses for winners in each category.

The categories:
• Large Newspaper (circulation of 150,000 or more, daily or weekly)
• Small Newspaper (circulation of less than 150,000, daily or weekly)
• Magazine
• TV - Spot News/Feature Reporting
• TV - In-Depth Reporting
• Audio (Radio or Podcast)
• Online For questions, contact: [email protected]  

More information